The writer’s block: info and remedies

Heya guys and girls!

I’m late again, I know, I know. College is a mess. A torturous but apparently necessary mess. (Sighs)

Oh well, here I am once again. Putting everything far away to do my favorite thing, which is to write.

Now, for this blog, I honestly didn’t know what I would write about. I came across the writer’s nightmare: the writer’s block. Thus, I asked myself, why not write about it?

The writer’s block is, well, a block XD. Ok, there’s more to it, but basically it’s somehow somewhat like a mental wall that blocks all creativity to flow in your head. For some strange reason, your brain reached its limit or perhaps has the batteries depleted, maybe the muse you had on your side suddenly got bored. Whatever it is, it stops you from writing. Words don’t come as easily, sentences don’t make sense, doubts the only company available.

Horrible, really. There are times that I’m writing to my heart’s content and then BAM! My mind is completely empty. The idea I had disappeared before my eyes. I even ask myself “What should I do now?”

First of all, the writer’s block is something all writers go through. Some for more time than others, yet all of us have been stuck once in our lives. No writer can be called a writer without knowing what the writer’s block is, without suffering the torture of having nothing, nothing on your mind. However, there are a few remedies to make it through that invisible wall and keep writing, or at least make bearable.

Yep, that happens when you're stuck
Yep, that happens when you’re stuck

Write everyday

Writing everyday helps you develop creativity and to let if flow free through your mind. it doesn’t matter how much or for how long, just do it. I try to write 2 pages per day minimum. Maximum, as much as I can. Try it. It helps a lot, I guarantee you.

Read

Reading helps you acquire vocabulary and grammar, but it also helps you get ideas for your piece. Maybe it’s the problem the protagonist is facing, the way the author describes the burning building or even how the villain laughs what spark in you that idea to keep writing. Reading helps you know what the world likes to read. For instance, I read YA novels. This helps me understand what teens like, and thus making it easier for me to write that audience. Read is always a door to get to know the world better. If you have the chance, go through it.

Search for advice

If you are not sure of what to do, let others shine your way. You can hand your work to a peer to see if they like it and then discuss it. That way you see your work from another point of view. On the other hand, you can simply talk about it with someone. Ask what to do when your stuck or maybe even what would he/she do in the characters situation. For the former, talk it through with other writers cause if they aren’t in the writing world chances are they don’t have the slightest idea of what to answer. For the later however, you can do it with practically anyone. It’s a good way to gather ideas. I’ve done it quite a few times. You can say something like: “Hey I have a problem and I want to know what you think. What would you do if you discover that girl you love is actually your enemy?” The hear them out and think of their answer (Don’t forget to thank them :3).

Keep writing, even with the block (This is not the first advice. Each are way different.)

Yep. This may sound weird, but it’s another way to pass the writer’s block. Some writers start writing one word over and over and over again (For example, jack, jack, jack, jack, jack, jack). Others simply write about anything, even something totally unrelated to the piece, until the inspiration comes again. By keeping your head busy, the ideas flow.

These are a few ways to get over the writers block. Nevertheless, they’re not the only ones. These three are enough for me, but if you aren’t satisfied or comfortable with any, then search for yourself. Each writer has their own special way of writing. So do what it’s best for you.

Well, that’s all for this blog. Hope you liked it! Whatever you do, don’t stop writing!

Take care! See ya next week!

Anaklusmosj

You liked it? Please comment below and let me know!!

