Starting with the writing basics – Part II

Heya guys and girls!

First of all, I want to apologize for not posting it earlier. Things didn’t go out exactly as I planned today.

But nevertheless, I’m here!  Let’s get started!

Well then, as a continuation of last time, I’m going to sightsee the other three steps of the writing process. These are the revision, editing and finally, publishing. As I said last time, the last three steps are really short and simple in comparison to the first two steps, the prewriting and the drafting. Still, I am going to talk about it. It’s part of the process and necessary to know in order to write better.

Let’s begin.

The third step of the writing process is the revision. In this step you revise your work. I know it sounds weird, specially since it’s like editing. However, they’re different. In revision, you figure out if what you wrote makes sense, has all the parts and is reviewed by someone other than you.

It’s a tedious process, but it pays off really well. Change words, paragraphs, scenes,  everything. Sometimes you even decide to change a whole new chapter. Or even decided to redo it all again. Some people don’t let their work be revised by a peer. In my opinion , I strongly suggest you do so. Having someone else read and comment your work is an experience that helps you grow as a writer. Furthermore, the agents and publishers are gonna do the exact same thing so, why not give it to someone close first?

Then, after making sure everything’s in place and that you’ve read all the comments, you edit your piece.  This is one of the hardest stages not because of brain-power requirements, but because it takes time. A lot of time.

The result of it is your perfectly written, ready to publish work. And that’s awesome, cause you can go to the final step.

The publishing!

This doesn’t mean your work will be loved by everyone as soon as you give it to your first agent. No. Just as the other steps, it requires blood, sweat and tears from you. There are many ways to publish, yet you have to choose the one that fits the type of work you wrote and all of your needs.

For instance, I publish blogs here that are to help others write. The internet is fast as well as open for everybody in the world. Since it helps me achieve my goals, I use it. On the contrary, if I wanted to publish a bestseller (which I’ll do someday, hopefully), I’ll need to find an agent that connects me to a publisher. See the difference?

Each publishing system is design for a type of writers, works and audience. You just need to find the right one for your masterpiece.

Once you’ve done publishing your work, you’ll have to wait for the readers reaction. This takes time. Be patient. No one, and I mean no one, will ever take your book immediately after it’s published. Some will find it interesting, others boring as hell.

There will be one though. One person who reads it, loves it, and then shares it.

Only then your work will shine.

Well, that’s enough for tonight. Next week, I’ll bring something new. perhaps a sheet of useful words or a prompt or a story. I don’t know yet, but if you want to know more of the writing universe, then stay tuned and follow me! I’ll keep in touch.

Yours,

Anaklusmmosj

PD: The image is a graphic depicting the writing process. It has all five as well as a few tips for each. Hope it helps you! See ya!

You liked it? Please comment below and let me know!!

